Keep on keepin’ on.

Ok, am I the only one who finds New Years to be intimidating?? I keep hearing others’ sentiments, how they are so excited for a fresh start. Fresh starts terrify me. So many way to fail.

There, I said it. Yes, it’s embarrassingly negative but what is a blog for if you don’t get to know me through my writing? As Jo March said of herself I too feel that I am hopelessly flawed. Because I am. What does God say about it?

“But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong…” 1 Corinthians 1:27

Am I willing to embrace that weakness and that foolishness? That not-having-it-all-together-ness and same-New-Year’s-resolutions problem that I have? Not only that but am I willing to let God make me something of His own? Something GREAT. For His glory. Can I step back and let my hubby chase his dreams? (With a happy heart..)

So anyways, I have lots of dreams if I can even call them that. Because they are more like a feeling. Being used. Helping others, making a difference.  I am doing that for my girls, but God has made me a team player. I LOVE being a part of something bigger. Maybe it’s His mission. I don’t know how I will look when so much of my year this past year has been in the trenches, and it was a blur. Honestly if I didn’t have iPhone photos, I would hardly be able to tell you what I did this year!

I spend too much time trying to figure out what I should be doing, or could be doing, or what sounds like fun. This year my goal is to get back to reading God’s word everyday, and I am hoping to get through the entire thing. Since the fear of God is the beginning of all wisdom, I should probably start there. I could use some prayers for motivation and choosing not to be distracted by the millions of other things that I can do and read and watch with the touch of a screen.  (Seriously though, no one else in history and to deal with this handheld computer stuff, geeeeez.) (At least I think. Maybe pre-Noah?? 😀 )

IMG_2034  January 2015

IMG_5552     November 2015

Off of the top of my head: I turned 27, Adam turned 30, we went to the beach once for the day :(,  Tessa turned 1 this year, I got to see U2 in NYC and Switchfoot at a music festival, visited Creation Festival for the first time in years, went away with the hubby to Burlington, VT, my brother Max moved to Boston, Kyle moved to the D.C. area, Kirby was on a ship all year traveling around the world, went on countless walks downtown and had Penny’s ice cream cones at Prince Street Pop-up Park (sad to see it go!), Robbuitos was closed all summer, I bought way too much nail polish from Julep, frequented Tired Hands Brewery (anniversary, Adam E.’s bday, Brian’s bday, for fun..), Adam bought me a chest freezer out of the blue and we bought 1/4 of a steer for the first time, got my hair dyed professionally finally, Karen! lived with us, painted the bedroom on the 3rd floor, didn’t get a real xmas tree. Knoebels twice. Lancaster got a Moe’s and we went to a bunch of Moe Mondays in the evening after the library. Adam and Brian won the Lititz craft beer fest home brew competition, and Adam started beer trading this year (drives me nuts, and not in a good way HA) His stash is …

IMG_5587

As sure as the sun will rise and chase away the night, his mercy will not end. – Ellie Holcomb

Because even now, I am struggling to not complain because I didn’t get out of the house today before the sunset. God is good. 2015, See ya, wouldn’t wanna be ya! 😉

 

Leave a comment